New videos on our YouTube channel!

We are happy to say that two new videos have posted to our YouTube channel. One is on how to catch a loose thread, from a Night-Loop, and pull it back down into the beadwork by using the tunnel of the herringbone beads. Have a look.

The other is a sneak peek into The Elegant Guide Round, a great threadpath from Volume II that places two rounds at once, for a Guide Round, an embellishment foundation, a second layer, an Underskirt, a Pettiskirt, or a Mirror-Wing. Whee! The full exploration will be part of the Pattern Library, opening soon.

Please feel free to share our videos!

10 thoughts on “New videos on our YouTube channel!

  1. Kate , thanks for the new beautiful videos … But please, please don’t delete your previous ” Elegant Guide Round ” video , because it was shot close enough to see the beads. Had I not seen that one I would not be able to follow this, since these vids are shot from just far back enough that I can’t see the beads well , unlike the previous close up video ..
    Cate

      • Hi Kate ,
        I’m using an iPad (Air). I clicked the email link to get here , and yes , clicked full screen . Oddly enough then there’s an option go full screen once more , which does eliminates all else, no borders at all .. But that second click does not increase definition , actually gets worse . Equally oddly , it does not zoom at all !! ( I wish ) Seems “It is what it is” , unlike the other vids . So I thought maybe it was in the filming ? I know iPads have a quirk .. not running one of the ? is it ” Flash Player” or ?
        Ideas ? Thx !
        C.

        • Actually , Kate .. Forgot to say , I can zoom it from here , if I don’t click full page icon , but it’s just fuzzy .. as if the definition isn’t there .
          C.

          • It sounds to me as if you are not choosing “Hi Def” as a setting. Can you check that for me? Your IPad or your YouTube settings may default to low resolution to save battery time. But it was filmed and uploaded in high definition. So open the video in YouTube, and check the Settings wheel down at the bottom right. You should have a lot of choices, choose the highest resolution, and report back?

          • Hi Kate ,
            Report : on this particular vid , I have choices from 144 thru 720 p., and an auto setting , where I leave it ,to automatically play the highest def. available. I did try them all … And no zoom . Clear as day , mind you but no zoom , and just that teensy bit far back to see . Sniff . Unless there is some hidden setting I don’t know ??
            …. Checking every button …..
            Thx for your time : ) !
            C.

          • Yes, Cate, this is a problem on your end, but 720 is better than lower settings. The video is available in Hi Def (1020) so either your settings are stopping you, or you are on a mobile device that isn’t allowing it (battery settings). Try it on a real computer, and I’m sure you will be fine. Anyway, this isn’t part of the beginner’s video, so I hope that most people who know how to make Wings and an Elegant Guide Round will be able to get it.

  2. HI,

    Just quickly looked at your video. Really interesting. I don’t know if there was a previous video to this one but…my question is….

    Are the wings made from using peyote and square stitch??? I’m trying to understand if the shape of the wings can only be achieved by using peyote and square stitch?? Is it that technique that forms the wing shape??

    Fascinating….

    • No, the Wings are just normal peyote and herringbone forms. Just like making any of our other winged forms. The only square stiches are the adds in between the peyote round in the single pass of the Elegant Guide Round.

      I’m showing this on a simple Tri-Wing Ring for the Pattern Library, working on that edit right now in fact.

Please feel free to comment!

