May 21: Fashion Institute of Techology

On May 21, 2014, Kate will be giving a free talk and photographic presentation at the Fashion Institute Of Technology, supported by the Bead Society of Greater New York. After the talk, there will be a live runway show; gorgeous models will walk some of our most striking work for Kyle Cassidy, photographer extraordinaire from Philadelphia. Fancy and costume dress encouraged (but not required, of course). The theater holds about 700; we have room for you. if you are not a member of the bead society you will need to be guestlisted, which is fine.

We encourage you to submit photographs for pieces to include in the show.  We are looking for beautifully crafted work, and it needs to be big and bold and dramatic- this is FASHION.  Email submissions and guestlist requests to kate@katemckinnon.com. Work needs to be in Tucson, AZ, by May 10 and will be returned by June 1. Yes! There will be an exhibition catalogue!

Becks wearing Robin and Karen, by Ali Megan

Becky Pattowitz, wearing Karen Beningfield (bracelet) and Robin Douglas (collar)
photograph by Ali Megan
Chevron minidress by Missoni, overshirt by Betsey Johnson

16 thoughts on “May 21: Fashion Institute of Techology

  1. WOW!!

    …and for those of us unable to attend the Event in person, how would we obtain copies of the Catalogue? This is a rare opportunity and experience… what about a DVD or YouTube video of it? or…

    Yeah, I and many others would sure love to be there and share the stupendous… but reality raises its head and I stay here. I’d be happy to pay a reasonable fee for Catalogue, DVD, etc.

  2. Hi Kate–Can you also bring copies of your books for us to buy after your talk???? That would be lovely and I know there will be lots of other members of the NY Bead Society who will purchase your books.

    Thanks so much.

    Susan Spalter

  3. Kate,
    I’m a member of the Bead Society of Greater New York as well as an admirer (and owner) of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork. I was wondering if the pieces you will show during the fashion show at FIT have to be made with the patterns from the book or if other work would be considered?

    I love the book (volume I, looking forward to volume II) and I’ve experimented with the patterns. But mostly I’ve been inspired by the work growing out of the patterns—many beaders, many variations. I generally create my own designs but I’ve incorporated elements from the patterns.

    I’ve been especially inspired by the “cones” which led me to do a series of pieces using square stitch. I’ve started these pieces with a tubular form—adapted from the “cone”—but my pieces become circular or curved. I’m amazed by the versatility of square stitch and the “cones” led me back to it.

    Looking forward to your talk and fashion show.
    Kind regards,
    Barbara
    Barbara A. Tokay, MS

    • Hello Barbara! I look forward to meeting you at the talk! I do welcome geometric and architectural beadwork made with other styles, and other designer’s patterns, and if we walk those sorts of pieces they will be fully credited to maker and designer in the catalogue. Send photos, definitely! Email is kate@katemckinnon.com.

      I’m excited to hear that Cones brought you home to square stitch again. It’s one of Dustin’s and my favorite stitches. You will LOVE the Elegant Guide Round if you haven’t seen it yet, as it features a sneaky and astonishingly (literally: astonishingly) versatile additional round put on with square stitch that slips effortlessly between peyote stitches. Definitely, watch this video! It’s an excerpt of a longer piece, but I think you’ll get it if you’ve made one of our peyote forms.

      Kate

Please feel free to comment!

