CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

More Cone Stitching

Look at what Christina Vandervlist did with the Cone Stitch– she whipped up a TuTu Cuff. Sure, we will step it out in the book. Absolutely! In the meantime, those of you who have enjoyed already making Cones might want to increase the diameter to wrist-size and see what sort of cuff you make. We’d love to see, shoot and feature your interpretations.

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

13 comments on “More Cone Stitching

  1. Spiritbead
    September 30, 2012

    This is the first time I’ve seen Kate’s photograph of my Tutu Cuff – Kate, I am simply blown away! Now I want to make it all over again! AAAGGGGHHHHHH! *G*

  2. Lisa Aikin (cre8tivGal)
    September 29, 2012

    A few random, complimentary, ADHD-ordered comments in one post 🙂
    1. I love this cuff’s colors!!!
    2. (I missed the info on the sea serpent cuff, referenced above? Where could I find it? That cuff, and the one worn to Tucson bead show, are fabulous!!!!)
    3. I am THRILLED to see you will be offering more bead kits… The bead stores near me are rapidly dwindling (I’m up in Surprise, AZ), and the last, somewhat nearby one that is left doesn’t stock large cones of Nymo, isn’t “up” on colors past the Delica 900’s…doesn’t stock drop beads, Preciosas, peanuts… ( What they do have is skimpy, at best… And they only sell hanks of 11/0s, which are great for texture but don’t work for my more precise designs (which are much more appealing, to my normally ADHD-addled brain) ) they don’t offer luscious colors that you use, that are luscious yellows-greens, mustard-ish, pumpkin-y, or even metallic blue iris? (I won’t include name or town, as I still need a store to shop in, close-by, lol)

    That said? I am just excited as heck, to get your e-book, and want to stockpile beads in some of both yours and Jean’s Colorways!!!!

    Thanks, Kate… Bead On!!
    Lisa

    • katemckinnon
      September 29, 2012

      Hi Lisa! The Sea Serpent was just featured in glorious hi-res closeup in yesterday’s Friday Update on the Specials for Pre-Orders page. It’s got about eight patterns on it, and lots and lots of pictures and ideas.

      https://beadmobile.wordpress.com/specials-for-pre-orders/

      • Lisa Aikin, aka Cre8tivGaL
        September 29, 2012

        How’d I miss it? LoL… I just saw the newest letter with pics but not any new patterns? Unless you’re referring to caldera, powerpuff,, triwing rings, m-raw, coneflower and double coneflower? –5 or 6? I’m soo blonde, sorry! (and sorry if I. Unintentionally insulted anyone, lol I speak only of my blonde self)
        Ta,
        Lisa

  3. de Koning Malin
    September 29, 2012

    So absolutely wonderfully fantastically awesome and cool and beautiful and I want to make one myself right away!

  4. donna
    September 28, 2012

    Love these colors together. Something I would of never tried but it looks beautiful. Thanks for the continued inspiration Kate.

  5. Lori
    September 28, 2012

    Oh, love that!

  6. MaryAnn Harder
    September 28, 2012

    Kate,I was just reading about the sea serpeant wrap cuff–it says the toho triangles sent out in recent kits can be used. Have the book kits been sent out? Just curious. Thanks,MaryAnn

  7. evelyne
    September 28, 2012

    Je ne sait pas comment vous faites celui mais vraiment bravo pour le travail

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2012 by .
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
