CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Books are arriving!

Books are arriving all over the world! Orders from Canada, Europe, and the UK will be pleasantly surprised to find that your books will arrive in quite a timely fashion, having already sailed through Customs and in distribution from DiMarca Online (Europe), Spangles 4 Beads (UK) and Christina Vandervlist (Canada). Customers in the UK and Canada will be receiving their swag directly from me, via regular mail, in about two weeks. Customers in Europe will find everything included in their parcel with the book. We worked to find the best solution for your location.

If you would like to download the eBook, which is a gift to everyone who pre-ordered the book, please use the password that can be found in the letter that arrived (or will arrive) with your book, or, if you are still waiting for your copy and want to get started, email kate@katemckinnon.com and we will email it to you immediately.

Right now, the amazing Kyle Cassidy is in Tucson, and we are in the middle of a two-day photoshoot for the CGB Souvenir Calendar and Volume II, and it’s going beautifully. Dustin Wedekind modelled for us yesterday, and in this photo, he is wearing one of Kim Boeckman’s new Horned Bangle interpretations.
Dustin with Kim Boeckman cuff and Allison Shock mug

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

17 comments on “Books are arriving!

  1. gillybede
    March 22, 2013

    Fantastic – thank you so much – it’s lovely – can’t wait for lunchtime! The pages showing and listing the beads – wonderful – such clear wonderful mouthwatering pictures too (know how hard they can be). Thank you – again….. for sending the mind off on tangents!

  2. katemckinnon
    March 19, 2013

    Thank you, Stephanie! It’s exciting to see how many people are totally GETTING what we were trying to do with this book, it’s beyond incredible to see comments like this. Thank you so much…

  3. Stephanie Price
    March 19, 2013

    I’ll be commenting on this post again when my hard copy arrives 😀 but I just had to stop in and say a few words on the eBook. Do you guys realize that we are getting to have our cake and eat it too? I’m “having” mine now with the eBook and I’m blown away with all of it – then there’s the sections that Kate held back from us til now <3. You can download all the sections as PDF's and if you have a tablet or laptop you can keep it right beside you as you dive into your first (or next) piece. Being a multi-focal squinter myself, I really appreciate that I can enlarge the print/diagrams so that I can see them without having to put my beadwork down to do it. The photos of finished pieces don't NEED to be enlarged in order to leave me awestruck by the work of all the great artists who contributed – but it don't hurt to blow them up either; they didn't pick up a bit of fuzz as I tapped the magnifier! Oh what SPECTACULAR beady goodness abounds throughout this book! Thank you Kate, for the HUGE labor of love. I hope you other beaders who await packages due to distance or shipping snafu are taking advantage of the eBook while you wait – you ARE missing out if you don't!

  4. Ellen Rosenberg
    March 19, 2013

    What everyone else said! My book arrived yesterday and it’s gorgeous! Well worth the wait. And I loved the little surprises inside. Thank you thank you thank you.

    • katemckinnon
      March 19, 2013

      Yay! Please show us what you make, we are agog to find out what the world beads up…. : )

  5. Vimala
    March 19, 2013

    WOW! My book came in the mail yesterday and it was absolutely worth the wait! This book is simply gorgeous…a true work of art! I love, love, love it! The beads, the book, the eraser, the postcards…all of it is wonderful!
    I must say that I am truly impressed with the entire production, from pre order all the way to delivery! The open sharing of knowledge, photos, techniques and inspiration during the entire process is how it SHOULD be done in a worldwide community of artists, but this seems to be rare in this world!
    Thank you to everyone who shared their work and inspiration during the creation of this beautiful work of art…and thank you Kate for bringing it all together and getting this book into our hands!

    • katemckinnon
      March 19, 2013

      Could I even find the words to thank you for how much you completely GET what we were trying to do? I’m so touched.
      What a lovely comment to come to at the end of a long work day.

  6. Ellie Grossman
    March 18, 2013

    I received my book today *yippee”, and love the wonderful beads! Was I supposed to get a signed bookplate?

    • katemckinnon
      March 18, 2013

      Yep! A little beige plate that says something like “Love and Beads! Kate” If it wasn’t in your envelope, just email me at kate@katemckinnon.com and I’ll send out another one.

  7. Jane Penrose
    March 17, 2013

    I unpacked my parcel last night. I was fortunate enough to indulge in cigar box offerings and I was overwhelmed with the bead choices for the kits. They will bring me much joy as I incorporate them into my beadwork. I could feel the appreciation and love for this project with the choice in paper used to wrap each book, the ribbon tied boxes and beads and the little extras that made me smile (smarties!), the gorgeous postcards.
    And the book. I opened it last and was thrilled. This is what I had signed up for many months ago. I have received so much in the time between pre-ordering and now. I have been following the progression on this blog and the Facebook page, watching bead artists take the ideas, spinning their craft into glorious art and then giving back to the project by sharing their nuanced adaptations and bead choices of whimsy, elegance and happiness.
    I look forward to the continued journey with the release of the Calendar and Volume II. Thank you.

    • katemckinnon
      March 17, 2013

      Thank you, Jane, your post warms me from the INSIDE OUT!!!!

  8. maryanne gross
    March 17, 2013

    Just got my book yesterday and I love it! I can’t wait for Volume 2!!

  9. seesbeyond143@comcast.net
    March 15, 2013

    I got mine and LOVE IT!! Cant wait to get beading!!!

    Thank you Marianne

    seesbeyond.etsy.com http://www.thebeadcoop.com Seller name Sees Beyonds Beaded Creations

  10. Kellie Freer
    March 15, 2013

    Hi Kate
    What about Australia??????

    • katemckinnon
      March 15, 2013

      Ah, Australia, where each book cost me $30 to ship and they take a month. Let’s not speak of that, and please enjoy your ebook in the meantime.

  11. Ellen Rosenberg
    March 15, 2013

    Can’t decide which is hotter, the mug, the bracelet or Dustin. 🙂

    • Kellie Freer
      March 15, 2013

      I was thinking the exact same thing!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2013 by .
March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
