CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

The Zigged Band sample takes off

I intended the Zigged Band sample I showed in the last post to end up as another flower brooch. But it seems to have different ideas; although it is a stunningly beautiful flower, it really wants to be a bangle. Who am I to say no?

Flower to bangle 2

On the red side, I began adding in size 15 rounds at the tips and crotches. This caused the tips to curl rather fetchingly, like Persian slipper-tips. You can really see this when it stands up.

I added side increases to the green side some time ago, and used size 15 round beads on one side of them, and Delica 11s on the other. This made them turn downward. As the piece continued, due to the nature of the zig-zag, the tips filled in, and the little winglets are now at the bottom of the open space. I’m having to make decisions about what to do with them- if I keep adding decrease rounds, will I decrease the little winglets into Horns?

I’ll have to decide in the next round.

Flower to Bangle 1

My only problem with the piece wanting to be a bangle is that I have been encouraging it with every stitch and hold to be a flat shape, not a cylinder, and so to go along with this bangle business I need to do a bit of tailoring. In this case, I am doing decreases on the tall Wings, and turning them in the other direction. This will make them stand up straight.

See how the two Wings I’ve finished the first round of decrease on are now willing to stand and deliver? When I finish the other three, I will have a cylinder. Each round of decrease I add will emphasize this.

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 3.52.59 PM

Below is a close-up of the decrease, and turn. You can see that I have finished the decreases on only two of the five Wings- the unfinished three are still sporting their black Fill Rounds, which followed their Point Rounds, in which I went from two beads at the top of each Wing to one.

Now, in decrease mode, I am adding zero beads at the tips, and instead am pulling the last two beads from each round together, to create crotches.

FLower to bangle decreases

It pays to remember that any “V” shape can be filled or zipped up, and any wingtip can be decreased. These are key tailoring moves in sizing Zigged bangles.

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

16 comments on “The Zigged Band sample takes off

  1. nahid
    August 1, 2014

    how can i have the pattern?

  2. Patricia Wren
    February 5, 2014

    I am no longer amazed… or maybe just in a permanent state of amazement at all the gorgeous shapes and colors… this one is breathtaking. I hope it will appear in the Pattern Library in some form (hint, hint!!) someday.

    As I’m not on Facebook I’ll offer it here— aren’t fascinators typically attached to small unobtrusive or matching headbands?

    Hope you’re back to 110% shortly. What rotten timing to be ill!!

    • katemckinnon
      February 5, 2014

      Well, you know how fashion shoots are. One makes things work. Fascinators can be attached with magnificent hatpins, if one has an updo…

      : )

      • Patricia Wren
        February 5, 2014

        Sounds like you might have JUST the hatpin— πŸ˜‰

        Never done a shoot, just runway stuff back in my salad days… sounds like this will be another great fun, like the last one.

  3. Katarzyna
    February 5, 2014

    Tworzysz wprost zjawiskowe rzeczy z koralikΓ³w, aΕΌ dech zawiera πŸ™‚ Pozdrawiam πŸ™‚

    Google Translate: “You create a straight phenomenal things with beads, until the breath contains πŸ™‚ Regards :)”

  4. IRENE CASEY
    February 4, 2014

    You amaze me like crazy!!! Love them all! Admire your imagination!

  5. Sandra Boyer
    February 4, 2014

    Thanks ever so much! This is a great help to me as I train my brain to visualize the 3D aspects of your work and designs. Excellent as always!

  6. Amy B
    February 4, 2014

    It is so spectacular, whatever it decides to be! The colorplay is engaging. πŸ™‚

  7. IrinaKanngiesser
    February 4, 2014

    OMG, this is gorgeous, and the colours are fantastic! This is the best proof that the pieces are alive!
    πŸ™‚

  8. Cath
    February 4, 2014

    to me it seems as if your flower doesn’t want to be a bangle, it wants to become a pouch πŸ˜‰ love this very very much.

  9. jebeadebabe
    February 4, 2014

    It’s beautiful, and thank you!

  10. BarbaraBriggsDesigns
    February 4, 2014

    Can’t wait to see it finished and modeled!

  11. Sandra Briney
    February 4, 2014

    Spectacular!!!! A feast for the eyes.

  12. MARILYN ARONSON
    February 4, 2014

    All I keep saying is OMG!!!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2014 by .
February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
