CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Progress Update

CGB Calendars all shipped February 3rd. Anyone who ordered one, and doesn’t have it yet: email me at kate@katemckinnon.com. I’ve only got a few left over, and I want to be sure about exactly how few.  🙂

Becks wearing Marilou Porth by Ali Megan

The CGB Pattern Library will be the next thing to publish; it will be free to all and will contain all of the basic patterns from both books, along with many other specific patterns contributed by beaders worldwide and lots and lots of additional image galleries. I don’t have an exact opening date, but it won’t be long now- my guess is that it will open by the end of March. This will be exciting- and new patterns will be released- lots of them.

Following that, I’ll send CGB Volume II for edit and to the press– this should all be done by the end of April. While it’s being printed and bound, I’ll finalize the commercial digital version, with a goal of having everything ready to ship and download by the end of May.

And that will be that! And we will bead up a global storm with the new beaders that stream in to join us, and the web sites will glitter, and I’ll sit in the garden, making shapes, being happy.

That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. Keep an eye out here for news- and if you haven’t, subscribe to this blog. The Follow box is in the right sidebar, near the top.

Big DatzKatz bangle

 

Photograph from the calendar shoot by Ali Megan, necklace by Marilou Porth. Bangle at bottom by Debra Schwartz, aka DatzKatz.

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

4 comments on “Progress Update

  1. Neus Agusti
    March 11, 2014

    hola carinyo , que diuen aquesta gent. petonets

    Date: Sun, 9 Mar 2014 18:23:04 +0000 To: neus2@outlook.com

  2. katemckinnon
    March 10, 2014

    Hi, Marilyn- Many of the patterns will be published on line for free, not the books. The digital copies of the books will be available to everyone who pre-ordered Vol. II before March 1, and also for sale as an eBook/App.

    As you know, there aren’t a huge number of patterns in Volume I, nor will there be in Volume II- the books are full of writing and photographs and ideas and examples. The Pattern Library will be an expansion of the project, but one that is free to everyone. It is certainly the case that people will be able to get the technical information on our beadwork for free. That has always been my way- with me, information has always been free- whenever I’ve had what I thought was an important idea, I published it. In a magazine, onilne, whatever, so no one had to pay to get it.

    I made a lot of the important techniques for CGB Volume I available for free almost immediately, in the form of the YouTube videos on MRAW, and then have continued to publish patterns and threadpaths as I’ve gone along creating Volume II.

    As I am not interested in patterns, not even a little bit, the easiest way for me to deal with the issue is to give mine away (along with what others contribute) and to let the people who want to sell patterns answer the endless questions like “how many beads go around my wrist?”

    And, of course, I want to host the Library because patterns are awesome, and just because I don’t want to be responsible for them doesn’t mean that they don’t rock. People can make however many of the stepped out pieces they want, and then innovate or not, as they see fit. In an online format, I can add in piles of extra photos and chitchat that simply doesn’t fit into a book.

    Short answer- if all you want is some patterns, there is absolutely no need to buy the books.

  3. Marilyn Amick
    March 10, 2014

    Kate, do I understand correctly that the content of Books 1 and 2 is going to be published online and will be free to everyone? Surely there’s something I’m missing, otherwise why would we all have purchased books? Hope you can clear up my apparent mis-understanding as to what will be made publicly available.

  4. Maria Scarlett
    March 9, 2014

    You are a legend Kate!!!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2014 by .
March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
