CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Final Press Edits

Whee! It’s almost finished! Just over a week left before they slam the press doors on us, and we expect all of the bound and wrapped books in hand in the first week of September, with shipping happening in the second and third weeks. It’s going to be amazing.

Only pre-orders for Volume II will ship from my studio, signed, with the postcard package, etc. Is your order in?

preview of page from Rick-Rack chapter, CGB Volume II, Kate McKinnon 2014

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

13 comments on “Final Press Edits

  1. Carol
    July 30, 2014

    Can’t wait for Volume 11, In volume 1 you said there was a resources area on your website. Cannot find it!

    • katemckinnon
      July 30, 2014

      I said that it will be found in the live eBook, which comes out later this Fall, and includes both volumes of CGB.

  2. LeAnn
    July 29, 2014

    Yay! Best b-day-month present ever! Still deeply into ideas from Vol I—what will Vol II bring?

  3. Nancy Haines
    July 29, 2014

    I can hardly wait. See you in Key West in Jan.

  4. BarbaraBriggsDesigns
    July 29, 2014

    Hurray! If it’s the third week in September, my books will arrive in time for my birthday! What a celebration that will be!

  5. Chercass, Wendy
    July 29, 2014

    Hi Kate,

    First off, I was one of the first peeps to sign up for the Bead Retreat in Key West!!! So excited!!
    Secondly, I€’m confused about the book. I paid and received a second book from Jean. This must be another book? If so, did I buy one? LOL, I want one of everything!!
    See you in the Keys!

    • katemckinnon
      July 29, 2014

      Hi! Jean Power and I started off doing a book together (the first Volume, back in 20111/2012) but we just had too much material, and also we wanted to present it differently (she wanted to do pattern books, I wanted to do textbooks on technique and feature the work of many people). So- we ended up not publishing together. We each have done two books, and there isn’t any overlap except for the first volumes, when we were working in tandem on many of the same ideas. I was inspired to begin by falling in love with Jean’s work.

  6. Sandra Briney
    July 29, 2014

    You have done a wonderful job, all the way through, and entertained us besides!

    • katemckinnon
      July 29, 2014

      Thank you!

    • Patricia Wren
      July 29, 2014

      Entertained, educated, stimulated, travelogued, amazed, soothed, mind-boggled, informed, eye-opened, and several etc.s after that… I know this adventure is winding down but will still grow exponentially behind the scenes… what a great ride it’s been, far better than any amusement park and with loads of arm and eye candy left when it’s done. Thank you, Kate.

      • katemckinnon
        July 30, 2014

        I think the adventure is probably just starting! This was just all of the work to build the foundation. Now, it will be able to properly flower. I will keep up the web pages, etc. And I will once again also be able to bead. For the last two years, I’ve mostly stopped working to work, if you know what I mean….

        • Patricia Wren
          July 31, 2014

          Then I suspect we will see ever more innovation and inspiration. Without the time pressures of book production. Miss Fish and Simon and even Orangelina will appreciate that… [presume you have regular updates on them while you’re in Boston].

          I expect my upcoming winter will be spent at my beading table, trying out even more new ideas. What fun!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2014 by .
July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
