CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Reviews are coming in!

The reviews of Volume II are rolling in, and they are raves. Most of them are collected either here on the Book Blog (see the tab at the top of the page that says “Leave A Review” or on Amazon. If you would like to add your own, we encourage it- nothing is more helpful to move a book forward in the world than a great review posted online.

Here is the link to the Amazon page for Volume II.

Rick Rack Deb B.

One of my favorite reviews on Amazon is from Stephanie Price (maker of the fabulous Walker Clasps we love, seen above in a Rick-Rack by Deb Bednarek). Check it out:

Format: Spiral-bound

Oh Man! (Sexy – did I mention it’s sexy?). Why would I use such dated references for a new book, you ask? It’s because (a) they were PIONEERS in their sphere – with their individual and recognizable styles, and (b) they were PERFORMERS. Contemporary Geometric Beadwork Vol II meets both criteria (As does Vol I for that matter).The book is brimming with beady goodness, but not crowded. It’s a book of concepts that shows you many of the possibilties of the forms – but not all of them; the world’s still waiting for YOURS! The photography alone is worth the price of the book; it is stunning in it’s clarity – with plenty of white space so the eye can take in – in exquisite detail – the lovingly stitched, and mind-blowing pieces created by bead artists around the world including the intrepid author! These pieces illustrate how easily you can take a basic form (or forms) and create something radically new. If you’re not quite ready to do that, there’s an online pattern library you can use to recreate a piece until you’re comfortable with the stitch patterns and thread paths. CGB even offers videos on YouTube that can help you out with these.

Another nice touch is the spiral binding. This book is meant to sit with you while you bead; it’s at home on the arm of the couch as much as it is on the top of your work table – no need to break it in, just take it with.

. . .

Thanks, Stephanie! And thank you to everyone who has left a review, sent me a happy email, who ordered the book, and who has sent me photos of their work. This is a lovely moment in the project for me; I am catching my breath, preparing new videos, and working on the release of new content for the Pattern Library. Shipping was a pretty huge job (over 3000 books sent so far, all over the world) and I’m still catching up. But it won’t be long – before you know it,  I’ll wow you all over again.

If anyone in the US, Canada, Australia, Europe, the UK or South Africa doesn’t have their book yet, please email me at kate@katemckinnon.com and let me know. Unless, that is, we’ve spoken recently or you are a new order. Countries outside of those zones- please give your book until the end of October to arrive- each book must clear Customs on its own, and sometimes that takes a few weeks.

deb-bednarek-web

Also, speaking of Deb Bednarek, I wanted to mention a mistake that I made on the first run of the Poster Postcard. Above, you can see a glorious Helix bracelet from Volume I by Deb.  Below, a glorious Helix Bangle by Kat Oliva. Similar, yet different…

 

Kat Oliva Double Helix Vol II web

 

You can see that I used Kat’s piece for the poster (and the postcard) but mistakenly I credited it to Deb in the first run of cards, and none of us caught it.  The error is corrected now, and of course I regret the mistake. Boo! Sorry, Kat and Deb! Your pieces are similar in colourway, but different in Band.

 

Final NYC Poster web

 

Love and beads,
Kate

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

6 comments on “Reviews are coming in!

  1. Lela Kurtz
    October 11, 2015

    I made the mistake thinking I could buy the second book and figure out the beading work. Boy was that a mistake and how much I would have lost out on if I hadn’t bought the first book. These books have hardly been out of my site since I bought them. They are gorgeous, wonderful, glorious, fun, dazzling. They beckon me to come to them when ever I am near them.. I have read and read and just can’t get enough.. I keep telling myself to get started with the beading but it has been hard for me to take my eyes off of them.. This is the most eye candy I have had since I was a child. Thank you for you courage, initiative, cooperative designing abilities. I AM AMAZED. Now I need to get to work.. I really think that these are books that every Bead Artist should have, even if they do not want to do wings, horn, helixes, sea serpents, cones, fortuneteller bangles, zigged parrot tulips, rick-rack bangle or any other beaded project you never thought you would do or even hear about. This book will teach you things that will help you in all of you beading projects. It allows your mind to soar to places you didn’t image you could do with beads. It actually gives you more confidence in the work you do.

    Hopefully this book won’t cause an increase in the price of delica beads but it will cause the Miyuki company to come up with many more colors.

    Thanks to all you wonderful talented people who contributed to these books and all the wonderful projects you have shared with us. Lela Kurtz

    • katemckinnon
      October 17, 2015

      Don’t worry, I can’t seem to get Miyuki to even NOTICE the books, much less the companies who sell Delicas to recognize the wave that our project has made in Delica sales. They seem to have almost no idea. Perhaps it’s just as well.

  2. Lia Melia
    December 24, 2014

    These books quite justly are stored with my art books; they are a book of art in themselves. Very, very well done Kate.

    • katemckinnon
      December 24, 2014

      What a lovely thing to say! Thank you, Lia, I study your amazing work in size

  3. Betty Neve
    October 30, 2014

    Hello Kate,

    Volume II has arrived at long last and we thank you so much for this. It is out of this world and we can’t wait to get started. Well done to you and all your beading colleagues. Thanks again.

    Betty and Suzanne Neve

  4. Stephanie Price
    October 21, 2014

    Kate I’m so glad you like the review! I enjoyed writing it – it’s an easy thing to praise a masterpiece! For you to say it’s one of your faves just makes my day – and to quote the Godfather of Soul; “Whoa-oa-oa! I feel good…”

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by .
October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
