CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

CGB Volume III is in production!

NEW BOOK!     •     NEW SEED BEAD SUMMIT:  June 1-10, Tucson, AZ

I’m pleased to announce that the third volume of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork is in progress now, and surprise, surprise, I think you could call it a PATTERN BOOK and not be exaggerating. Why patterns? Because you asked for them, and I love you, and I have time now, and also because I’m interested in bringing in another wave of new beaders, including beginners. I love this project, really love it, and am nowhere near finished making it into a whole.

I’m working on new pieces, keeping track, filming video.

New piece in process, Kate McKinnon 2015 (photo Kate)new piece in progress, Kate McKinnon

. . .

During production of the first two books, I often thought that there was a window to die a loser (before I published, because I had $75,000 of other people’s money invested in my success) or a hero (if I made it through the gate with a book worth the wait). That was a terrible feeling, really. A lot of pressure, a lot of worry about how people would get their money back if I died saving Han Solo from a burning aircraft.

harrison-fordphoto Reuters

This time, I’m not taking pre-orders for the new book, because I just can’t deal with the accounting and volume of email.  I’m muscling through it on my own.

So my summary: working on a book under pressure, no fun. But finishing a book, that’s the best feeling in the world. So this one will be doubly rewarding, because when I finish it, I can also take orders for it. Honestly, I’ve never been able to work like this before and it’s the BEST THING EVER.

To support the creation of the project, I’ll be doing metalsmithing, and making special kits – twelve of them, one for each month I expect to be in creation. The first one is in the Shop now, an Architectural Flower kit on a Zigged Band ($140) that encourages you to make giant flowers for brooches, fascinators or focals, but of course can be used to make flowers of any size. Make 20 rings, three big flowers, whatever. You can’t lose. Especially since we will invite you to send your flowers in for professional photography, and to walk the runway in San Diego, at the August 15th Glitterganza in San Diego, at the Mingei Museum.

Flowers by Kate McKinnon Mowlgi by Karen Beningfield

If you just want the digital versions of the so-far released patterns, no beads, the price is $25 each, and they are available at this link. Currently you’ll find digital editions of the Mowgli Bangle (Karen Beningfield and Kate McKinnon) and the Architectural Flower kit.

Kate McKinnon Flower Kit March 2015

I’m also hosting another Seed Bead Summit. This one will be June 1-10, 2o15. Soon!

Sign up here, or, if you want to participate virtually, and you are a Facebook user, click “Going” on our event to get updates, live streams, and YouTube broadcasts of the presentations. If you don’t do Facebook, just be sure you are subscribed to this blog (Follow buttons at the right and/or in the bottom sidebar) and you won’t miss the links.

Facebook Event Pages (one of them may work better for you than the other):
https://www.facebook.com/events/782261488534098/
https://www.facebook.com/events/813935148642851/

I did the first Seed Bead Summit in 2011, to see what a mix of professional beaders and friends might come up with if we were mixed in a ranch house in Tucson and left to rise for four days. The participants included Dustin Wedekind, Jean Power, Gabriella van Diepen, Jeroen Medema, Teresa Sullivan and Marcia DeCoster. Dustin, Jean and I ended up beginning the CGB project (which was so big that it’s turned into four books so far – two from Jean and two from me), and Christina Vandervlist and Karen Beningfield came on board as illustrators in the two CGB books. (Gabriella also beaded and modeled for the first book, making innovative pieces that riffed on Wings and Horns.)

Devil's Eggs Are Hatching, Horned Rick-Rack cuff by Gabriella van Diepen, Contemporary Geometric Beadwork 2012, photo Jeroen Medema

beadwork Gabriella van Diepen, photo Jeroen Medema

And now it’s time for a third creative whirl to whip up; you are invited to participate physically, online, or by sending in your work for photography (but please wait until I ask for it). The Summit will be open source, like our entire project.

If you want a physical slot here at my house, in June, please reserve it now, or let me know to hold one for you. I want to keep it smallish. Also; this is one link that I don’t want you to forward. I’m not looking for a lot of people. Or random people. I’m looking for the people who are already looking for me. Do you know what I mean?

People who like mystery, who like to work, who have questions, who love being outdoors, who love to go completely nerdy about nuances in beading, in architecture, in structure.

Is that you?

Kate McKinnon: Seed Bead Summit

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

12 comments on “CGB Volume III is in production!

  1. Terry
    February 6, 2017

    Tapping my fingers ,waiting ohhhh so patiently for my set of Volume 3 , it’s gonna be amazing !!!!

  2. Emilie Pritchard
    May 25, 2015

    Hi–I am a beadweaver doing contemporary geometric work. I have no idea if it’s too late to submit work for your new book, but, in case it’s not I’d like for my work to be considered. The best view of it is at y website, listed below. Thanks. Emilie Pritchard

  3. woodturner420
    April 10, 2015

    Looking forward to Volume III

  4. beadandpolish
    March 25, 2015

    can I also order 72 hrs day to achieve all of these beautiful projects I would like to try ?
    Joke apart, I am so happy about this news. Thanks for all your work

  5. Nelly Nordio
    March 14, 2015

    WooHoo Can’t wait ! Can’t wait ! Can’t wait !

  6. Susan Francis
    March 13, 2015

    you are truly a AMAZING WOMAN….

  7. Sherri
    March 12, 2015

    You are the best! If anyone can do it, it’s you Kate!!! You are one clever chick!

  8. marie risbeck
    March 12, 2015

    Yeah

  9. Maryanne Gross
    March 12, 2015

    This is very exciting news! Your books have been so inspirational to me so I can’t wait for vol. 3!!!!

  10. keygirldesigns
    March 12, 2015

    Volume III ?!?! – I haven’t been able to sleep for several years already – here goes a decade more of sleepless nights of insane “what if” beads patterns swimming through my mind. Bring it on!

  11. Cheryl Olsen
    March 12, 2015

    You rock!!!!!

    Sincerely,
    Cheryl Olsen

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2015 by .
March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
