CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Seed Bead Summit, days 3 and 4

The third and fourth days of the Summit brought many new ideas. Joining us were Karen Hornor, Donna Horgan, Katherine Kosta, Robin Douglas, and Dustin Wedekind, and leaving us were Dana Scott, Teresa Shelton, and Nancy Jenner. Today, Sheila Prosterman.

When Sheila dropped in to say “hi” yesterday, she brought a sample of an old piece of beadwork that we have been marveling over. It may be knitted… I’ll try to learn more about it. If you happen to recognize the pattern or provenance, leave a comment. The fabric is very fine, feather-light.

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 9.50.17 PM

Dustin brought his beaded ties, and he and I did a few demos from the books for people who wanted to explore Cones, flat circles, or the Elegant Guide Round.

Dustin Wedekind by Sam Norgard at Kate McKinnons

Dustin by Sam

Katherine Kosta flew in yesterday just in time for a cool rainstorm.

Katherine Kosta

Sarah is working on a really interesting piece.

 

 

Sarah Loudon web

 

I love the tall flower ornaments.

Sarah Loudon working

Teresa, Kate and Nancy, photo by Katherine.

 

Teresa Kate and Nancy

 

Donna Horgan brought a series of pieces that are like colour studies.

 

Donna Horgan

Many new shapes, rings and components were made in the past few days, and we got some truly great projects for the new book. I had a great new idea for my Elegant Guide Round and Exploding Round, involving setting increases into the air (instead of into peyote slots), and I’ll explore that today – I’d love to get you exploring it all with me! Lots of pix coming.

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

9 comments on “Seed Bead Summit, days 3 and 4

  1. Maria Scarlett
    June 5, 2015

    Sheila’s treasure reminds me of a Persian Woven Carpet that my grandmother had when I was a child. Perhaps the piece is woven rather than knitted? Feeling inspired and jealous I cannot be there sharing the energy and vibes. Have fun xxx👍💜😀

  2. Maria Scarlett
    June 5, 2015

    T
    Sheila’s piece reminds me of a woven Persian carpet that my grandmother had when I was a child. Perhaps it is woven rather than knitted? I am inspired but also envious that the summit is so far away. I want to be there too😢

  3. Gemma
    June 5, 2015

    How do you get to attend the next time?
    Beautiful and inspiring…
    Thank you
    Gem

    • katemckinnon
      June 5, 2015

      Sign up when you see it posted on the Book Blog! The last one was three years ago.. dunno when the next one will be. ❤

  4. Diana Mulloy
    June 5, 2015

    It looks very exciting! I can’t wait to see what develops. I’m still working my way through book 1 and enjoying the process so much!

  5. Ana María Buse de Avila
    June 5, 2015

    Todos los trabajos muy hermosos. ESPECTACULARES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Felicitaciones Cariños Ana María

  6. Janet Gunther
    June 5, 2015

    Love the photos and postings you share. Show us everything!

  7. Lynn Parpard
    June 5, 2015

    Oh my labor intensive …….. beautiful

  8. Maria Cristina Grifone
    June 5, 2015

    I’d like to be there with you!!!!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2015 by .
June 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
