CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

diving into genius

Hello all- the Summit was a huge success and I’m writing it all up now. You might be interested in where some of this is going… here is a post from my personal blog, explaining.

Kate McKinnon

You know, it’s interesting, peeking into all of the deep, beautiful disciplines that people use to examine and describe the structure and processes of the universe, or the built world, or the fabric of society. Last night I was fooling around with a manifold idea, fooling and fold being the key words there.

There are special kinds of geometric forms used to describe possible structural arrangements of spacetime in string theory, and we have been moving naturally toward them in our beadwork.

Calibi Yau manifolds

Why string theory? I don’t know. As I just realized that if my RNA stick or string was infinitely expandable, I could build an entire universe, I am sort of naturally wandering toward the people who work in that end of physics. Those are my people.

But I’m not really interested in spending my life doing their work. I find discovery exhausting, because I am incapable of turning away from an idea…

View original post 637 more words

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2015 by .
October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
