CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

CGB@MIT: Talk at the MIT Stata Center

We got a wonderful video back from the MIT A/V team, and it’s a good introduction to the overall reach and goals of the project. This is a great link to share with potential collaborators, museums, galleries, or schools that might want us to come and give a seminar.

I hope you enjoy it, and get a new look into the scope of what we are hoping to do with these ideas. This video has been posted as a page on the web site, not just this blog entry, so if you are on the site, and look to the left sidebar, it will be a handy link. Here’s the YouTube:

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

5 comments on “CGB@MIT: Talk at the MIT Stata Center

  1. Renée Good
    November 2, 2015

    Kate,

    OMG, you almost made me feel like a mathematical and scientific genius with your MIT lecture. I just thought I was beading.

    You make me feel less isolated from the beading world. Our nearest bead store that sells Delicas is a 90 minute drive. Consequently I mail order all my Delicas from Fire Mountain. Unfortunately it is difficult to assess colour from a small picture on-line. I have taught several friends to bead but haven’t yet been able to get them into anything dimensional.

    Your emails are great. Keep them coming.

    Renee

    __ Reneé Good Sent from my iPad

    >

    • katemckinnon
      November 5, 2015

      Renee, how nice to hear from you here. Perhaps you identified with the part in the video where I was all excited about having discovered a secondary structure and no one cared. They just keep beading on with Fireline, shunning a whole entire second world that could be used for sizing, tailoring, and deeper attachments.

      Which is fine, but sometimes a lonely feeling, to have ideas and be in the desert.

      I am often quite literally in the desert, as I do most of my work from Tucson, Arizona, a hive and hub of nothing.

      Stay connected, stay in touch. I love your work, as you know. Perhaps we *are* all geniuses. I have a little idea about that…I think people just need to find what they are good at AND they enjoy.

      • Linda Wahl
        November 5, 2015

        Hi, Kate — I, too, am in this hub-less desert land. I was excited about the secondary structure. I am currently working on my third piece — a zigged cuff. AND, I have been beading for over 25 years and have used Fireline exactly once! I’m so excited about your work!

  2. Linda Wahl
    October 31, 2015

    I was impressed with this project BEFORE I watched your lecture at MIT. I cannot wait to meet you and to see how I can become involved. Since making my first tri-wing ring, I have not thought about beading in the same way. I just finished a bracelet (I named it Raven’s offspring, from your Raven Cuff, p. 96 of Volume I). I was in my local bead store yesterday, looked at a pair of earrings someone was wearing, and thought — I can make that shape into something really interesting. You and the others involved have made this into a truly EXPLODING field!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2015 by .
October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
