CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Lots coming this week!

This week, we will show here on the Book Blog how to Deconstruct our giant Flat Peyote Triangle or Hypar (Warped Square) and make incredible bangle starts from whichever piece seems like the most sensible Section to build from.

Each piece, the Triangle and the Hypar, have six Sections – the hot red center piece and five more coloured rings that can come apart. Have a look at the Hypar (see previous posts if you need to catch up on what this is, and why we are making it.)prism-hypar-set-rgb

The piece that I chose to work with first from my Deconstructed Hypar was the bright yellow square, third from the center, otherwise known as Section 3.

See the simple yellow square inside my blue and white Eight-Wing Bangle start? I just began sewing right onto it, without even weaving in my thread. (A stop bead will help you start if your thread is very slick.) After all, why would I weave it in? I’ll be taking the new bangle off soon.

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-1-25-36-pm

And now, after seven rounds of work, I’m taking off the Starter Square (see next photo)All I have to do is use teeny little scissors (or maybe a thread burner, if you roll that way) to snip the single thread showing between the white beads, and the pieces come apart cleanly, with no beads lost.

It looks like MAGIC, but really, it’s just us taking advantage of the fact that each round of peyote has two separate threads holding the beads on – the round that placed the beads, and then the round that follows it (when the new beads are added).

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-3-10-11-pm

If you’ve never seen us do this trick, we’re making a nice video on Deconstruction for you, and it should be finished this week. It’s so simple – just one little snip at each corner, and ta-da, separate sections.

I chose Section 3 to build on for my own bangle start because Section 4 (the pale yellow-green piece) fits me perfectly as a bangle. Therefore, any piece that I start from the outside edge of the previous section (#3) will fit me perfectly.

I don’t have to count, I just have to bead a simple Triangle or Hypar, blow it apart, and try on the pieces. One of them will fit me snugly, one perfectly, and one hugely. I can use each of them for different things.

I chose to make this piece from the size that fit me perfectly, and for fun I added another set of Increases along each open side. That made the nice Eight-Wing Bangle start easy, and the piece is built perfectly to fit, with no long start, no counting, and NO JOIN. It took just a few hours to create, and it was really easy. No counting! No join!

This is fairly revolutionary.

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-3-09-58-pm

I could have retained the Starter Section on my piece until the end, to be certain of fit, or take it off at any time I had enough beadwork started to be sturdy. We recommend doing at least six rounds of peyote onto any Casting Model before taking it off, which is what you see here.

I’m going to make this start into an even wingier All-Wing Bangle by adding yet more increases along each side.

in-process

Lookie, all I had to do was divide the sides again, and now I have a 16-point All-Wing, still perfectly sized, still no counting. Each increase is now called out with two red beads. You can add as many as you can fit. (I tied it loosely together in the center to keep it from flipping, for the photo.)

After five years of engineering any and all workarounds to the Dreaded Peyote Start, and the sizing heartaches and timewastes associated with it, I find it simply mindbending that a start like this can be accomplished without stress in just a few hours, from such simple shapes.

This info strikes me as fairly long overdue, and is a key feature of the upcoming CGB Pattern Book. More soon!

 

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

10 comments on “Lots coming this week!

  1. Terry
    February 19, 2017

    Weeeeeee so excited looks Mahvolous Dahlonega lol

  2. Amy Hickey
    February 15, 2017

    Kate,you are a genius!

  3. Cherie levy
    February 14, 2017

    Hello Kate! Missed your presence in Tucson this year….hope Boston is all u wish it to be. Am excited for book…as always, u r an innovating force in the artistic bead world. Thanks for sharing with all of us

  4. Sue
    February 14, 2017

    truly wonderful cannot wait to get started… xx

  5. Rochelle
    February 13, 2017

    Hi Kate, Should I put detonation points in the hypar to deconstruct it or will you be showing us an even easier way to separate the sections?
    I’ve done the center section and am just waiting for the answer before I continue full steam ahead!

    • katemckinnon
      February 14, 2017

      You can if you want to, but YES, we have a much easier way – just snip the single thread between the white increases in each of these rounds, and ta-da, apart it comes. The Detonation Points were only places to hold out the thread for snipping; we discovered that the increases are so easy to get to that we don’t need the extra beads.

  6. Karen
    February 13, 2017

    Now I get it! Mind blown, I have to get to work! Holy crap, I have been wasting time…

  7. Nelly Nordio
    February 13, 2017

    It’s great getting new posts again… so exciting….so inspiring !!

    • katemckinnon
      February 14, 2017

      Agreed! I’m so pleased to be ready to publish, it’s been a long road getting all of this stuff corralled.

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2017 by .
February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
