CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

The CGB Kaleidocycle Pattern

Hello, all!

We’ve got a longer update coming soon (as soon as we catch up on your Cycle emails!) but just a note to let you know that we released another pattern today to our pre-orders – those of you on the list should have received the beta copy of our Kaleidocycle pattern in your email.

Dots Face CGB Primary Cycle web

If you have pre-ordered any of the three new upcoming books (The CGB Pattern Book, Colouring Book or CGB, Volume III) and didn’t get the pattern today, please send Kate an email, so we can get you on the list tomorrow, and catch you up. Thank you for your patience during the past year, while we’ve built and tested and studied and learned about these extraordinary forms.

In that email, let us know if you’ve moved or changed your mailing address since you ordered. We’ll be making all of the pre-order packages in a few weeks, addressing the envelopes, and getting ready for the books to arrive. We’ll keep you posted on our press schedule, but there will be plenty of new content streaming out all summer to keep everyone happily beading, whether you’ve ordered books or not!

If you haven’t ordered the new books, here’s a link.
We’ll send you over the pre-released patterns, and catch you up with the project.

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon, globe-trotting writer and metalsmith, has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and loves warm weather, nice people, rides in the car, and good books.

5 comments on “The CGB Kaleidocycle Pattern

  1. LeAnn Baehman
    April 22, 2017

    This is beautifully helpful, I wish I’d had it when I made my first Kaleidocycle. I probably learned more figuring it out by myself, though. My husband did notice a possible error in page numbering. Page three jumps right to page six, so there are two page sixes. I thought you might want to know before going to press. Can’t wait for the books.

    • katemckinnon
      April 22, 2017

      Thanks, LeAnn, they just stuck those page numbers manually on the PDF, I think – there is also some blue text on a page that was just a moment in the review process. The page numbers come in when we merge it all into one giant document, right before press.

      I’m glad you like the instructions. Did you have any comment on the hinge? I love what Dustin devised with the rocailles.

      • LeAnn Baehman
        April 23, 2017

        I have been using a single row of delicas in most of my pieces. I did use Dustin’s method for my open two-dimensional triangle cycle ( the black, white, red, and turquoise one on my FB page), because it was so stiff that I thought I’d need the extra room. Works beautifully. What I really like and can’t wait to try is your method for making strips of triangles to turn into tetras. I had been using the method outlined in Diane Fitzgerald’s Shaped Beadwork. This looks like an interesting alternative, plus it should be easier to lay in the hinge rows.

        • katemckinnon
          April 24, 2017

          Oh, LeAnn, do I have something to show you. I’ll email it to you, so you can test it for me. I have a flat-pack set of Mirror Tetrahedra- 3 are a cycle, 4 or 5 a bangle. I think you will love it.

  2. Friderike Strassmann
    April 22, 2017

    Thanks very much for the pattern! I got it yesterday and i am looking foreward to the books, yes!! 🙂

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2017 by .
April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
