CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Leave A Review!

We would love it if you left your review of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork in the comments section of this post- great reviews are how this book is travelling around the world, finding new beaders, and they are very influential when bead shop owners are considering carrying the book, or Amazon browsers are thinking of buying a copy.

We’ll start it off with this one, from Blanche, the owner of the mighty New Jersey bead shop Beads By Blanche, and she says,

I just received the shipment of your lovely book. It is truly fantastic! The designs and photography are just so gorgeous….Congratulations on a superior job.

And Vimala, who said,

WOW! My book came in the mail yesterday and it was absolutely worth the wait! This book is simply gorgeous…a true work of art! I love, love, love it!

I must say that I am truly impressed with the entire production, from pre order all the way to delivery! The open sharing of knowledge, photos, techniques and inspiration during the entire process is how it SHOULD be done in a worldwide community of artists, but this seems to be rare in this world!

Rayo  Boursier, X-Wing Bangle, Contemporary Geometric Beadwork 2012, Kate McKinnon

X-Wing, beadwork and design by Rayo Boursier

98 comments on “Leave A Review!

  1. Debra Howe
    March 6, 2017

    How do I get a password for the pierced arrow pdf?

  2. Soraya van Ommeren
    December 28, 2016

    Bought the digital book, two days ago, and I am still waiting for the access code. Please provide.

    • katemckinnon
      December 28, 2016

      Hello, Soraya – the codes have been emailed to you three times now, and also to your PayPal dispute.
      : )

      I think you need to adjust your spam filters on your email?
      Kate

  3. Dawn Tomlinson
    November 7, 2016

    Can you help, please? Ordered the book, and have looked at your website, patterns and youtube! Thank you!
    I can’t understand the horns. There are fabulous diagrams for all kinds of things. The horns? Just says to decrease. How? I’ve decreased on many stitches, but this one stumps me. Can’t figure out how to decrease along the herringbone/ peyote horn. Increases? Yes! Decreases? How, please?
    Thanks in advance.

    • katemckinnon
      November 7, 2016

      Hi! Do you have the first CGB book? If so, start at the beginning. The Flat Peyote Triangle leads to the Power Puff, which is where we teach decreases, and many, many words are said about how to accomplish them in the beginning of the book. By the time you get to Horns, the presumption is that you will have done a decrease of a triangle into a Puff – the Caldera Bangle in Book 1 is the pattern to explore this into jewelry or architecture.

      Decreasing a Wing into a Horn is really just making a corner in space; in a triangular Puff, you have three corners, but in a Horned Bangle, you have N horns- N being however many you choose to cram in. So they don’t really act like “corners”, but what is a corner, anyway? You can see how this led us to topology, and computational origami… and… and…

      So: Start at the beginning! Because this is architecture, and it’s built from the increases and decreases; these are the coding that tells the beads what form they are going to take.

      Beady hugs,
      Kate

  4. Maxi Starr
    February 20, 2016

    Volume I demanded Volume II. I am eagerly awaiting the Pattern Book and Volume III.
    During the last year I have made 9 items incorporating rick racks, horns, wings, Elegant Guide Rounds, Memory wire, Walker Clasps, Fortune Teller and sometimes all of the above in one piece. Now I am, again, combing Volume II for inspiration. I keep running into the reference ebook/App. How do I access this? I am obsessed with the architecture and color as inspired by Kate.

    • janetgunther
      June 6, 2016

      I wondered about the ebook/App too. I use iBook to open the electronic versions but can never get a link to open. I assumed that ebook was the iBook.

      • katemckinnon
        June 9, 2016

        Oh, as soon as the set is complete, I plan to produce an app and an interactive ebook version, but currently, for Vols I and II, there is only a PDF copy of the actual book pages, no extra content. If you need a password for the PDFs (if you bought the books from me one should have been emailed to you at the time of purchase) just email me and let me know.
        kate@katemckinnon.com

        • janetgunther
          June 9, 2016

          That will be splendid Kate. Your products are worth the wait no doubt about it. You are the Generator of Bead Dreams.

          • katemckinnon
            June 9, 2016

            What a lovely thing to say, Janet!

  5. Susan Pelligra
    February 15, 2016

    Received Vols. I & II as I was headed out of town. GREAT timing Thank you!. The books were passed around to our teams’ spectators at the athletic event: knitters, quilters, & non-beaders all, were absolutely AGOG at the beautiful work & the open concept of CGB. Many said they’d follow CGB, I was thrilled to introduce them to the CGB world, how FUN! I can’t wait for Vol III !

  6. REUZE
    October 9, 2015

    Hello, I have buy the Contemporary Geometric Beadwork I and II in DIMARCA ONLINE.
    They are beautiful. I have just make 2 Puff beads. I leave in France but I don’t find the Nymo B thread in spool.
    Do you have an idea where I can find some even if it’s not in France. I really like to try beading with this trhead.

    • Carol Cady
      November 5, 2015

      Hi,
      You could trying to find Fireline in fishing and hunting stores in France. If you have a Bass Proshop they always have Fireline. Try cabelascom or basspro.com. They are fishing/hunting websites, and they might have Fireline on their websites.
      Here in the United States where I live in Arizona we find the Fireline less expensive at these stores.

      • Kate Mckinnon
        November 5, 2015

        Or better yet, Reuze, never use Fireline and get that Nymo spool you want. : )
        This work is so much better with real thread.

        I get mine from a variety of sources, but Fire Mountain is a site that shows all of the colours. The thread is made in Italy, by Belding Corticelli.

        http://www.firemountaingems.com/shop/kwcordnymospool

        • REUZE
          November 7, 2015

          Thank you for your answer

      • REUZE
        November 7, 2015

        Thank you for your answer

  7. Maxi Starr
    August 5, 2015

    Kudos to Vol I & II. When can we expect Volume III ?

  8. Maxi Starr
    May 20, 2015

    I have been making wonderful goodies from ideas in Book I. Just got book II from Amazon. Is there a link and password that comes with purchase of the books? My brain is about to explode with all the things I want to try but I seem to run into questions. Like How do you get 2 MRAW bands in one bracelet?
    By the way, that MRAW belly band is greater than sliced bread. I bead fairly tight and had wonderful rick rack after 2 rows. Haven’t managed to figure out Jigging. Is there any place to find more explanation than in Book II?

    • katemckinnon
      May 20, 2015

      Sure, I email passwords to all Amazon buyers! Check your email. Jigged is just all increases. You can make a neat one by starting a regular Rick-Rack, and then switching the decreases to increases (just add two beads instead of zero beads, keep doing it each time you come to them, and ta-da, you have an all increase bangle.

      To get a second MRAW band, just add a round of RAW to your peyote. It isn’t really MRAW, because that is a starting threadpath, it’s just adding a RAW band into the peyote fabric.

      • Maxi Starr
        June 1, 2015

        Thanks for the help. I have made 4 items and just can’t stop wanting to go further. I love the third dimension. I have zigged every which way. Every time I turn a page, I get another inspiration. My Fortuneteller seems a bit “wonky” but I enjoy wearing it. Have decided that an occasional goof just gives character.

  9. Judy Goodwin
    April 23, 2015

    I received Volume II today and am as equally excited about it as Volume I!!! They are very inspiring. Thank you for giving fellow beaders the opportunity to share their work as well as learn new techniques from your fabulous web site!
    Best,
    Judy

  10. Ans
    April 10, 2015

    Hello I am Ans from Amsterdam – Holland and I ordered your 2 books 2 weeks ago and today they arrived
    They are beautiful .I am so exited , i am beginning right away
    So Thanks , Thanks and Thanks

  11. Renee Good, Ontario, Canada
    March 14, 2015

    Fantastic! These two books are incomparable. They encourage and inspire. They open your mind to new concepts, wonderful new colour combinations, and, for me, creativity that I could not have imagined previously. This is the most fun I have had with my beading I years. Thank you many times over.

    Renee Good

  12. Nelly Nordio
    February 6, 2015

    I purchased both books (digital for my Ipad) early November last year, I just wanted to say that I don’t think I have ever referred back to any book as much as I have these two not just for learning, mostly as inspiration ! Thank you for two Great books.

    Nelly (Sydney, Australia)

  13. Deanne Anderson
    January 7, 2015

    The best therapy for OCD is BEADING!!! I have shoppedin bead shops all over the world and am so fortunate to have one of the very best at BEAD CRAZEE right here at home in Tyler, Texas. Jerry got Volume I and II hot off the press!! With the opportunity to indulge in my heart’s desire of every color of beads here WOW!!! These books and my OCD are meant for each other. Keep the web open and ideas flowing. Thank you for the opportunity to share and expand the gift of so many creative minds around the world. The beauty and talent opened up in these books and online communications merge hearts and souls in so many ways that a beautiful network of BEADED HEARTS TOGETHER have created something of their own unique gift of world peace in this time of world unrest.

  14. jendora
    December 21, 2014

    I have both volumes as an early Christmas present and I am in love…..:-) I wrapped them in plastic bags so they remain pristine as I could not bear to spoil them. One sentence made me laugh and sticks in my mind. “the eye of a crow or a seamstress” I have been a couture seamstress for over 60 years..:-D Due to ill health I am unable to work with fabric anymore, but the transference to beading has filled the gap. Thank you Kate and all you fabulous beading artists that have selflessly shared your expertise for me to drool over.

  15. Donna
    November 26, 2014

    This book is a work of art and a labor of love by so many beaders. I have Volume 1 and wondered how that could be topped but Kate you amazed me with Volume 2. What a barrage of eye candy, lovely colors and wonderful creations. I was dreaming in color for weeks after my copy arrived in the mail. Thanks Kate for a truly beautiful, inspirational, and valuable addition to my bead library. Both books will always be with me.

  16. janetgunther
    November 24, 2014

    repeat from pattern blog page but this belongs here.
    1st of all – thank you for sending out my books so quickly. As you know most beaders are the most impatient people in the world when it comes to ordering new beads, books, findings, etc. I received my books a few weeks ago and they are never far from my reach.

    2nd – I have felt overwhelmed since. BUT I remember feeling that way about peyote, then peyote circle, the spiral tube. Now those kind of stitches are so easy for me. That is what I remind myself when browsing through your books. I know that some day I am going to make a wild and crazy horned cuff with rick-rack layers and all kinds of stuff.

    Remember! Muscles have memory, even the tiny ones in our fingers and as we keep doing a process over and over again, the process becomes easy then professional looking plus you start saying out loud, “This is so easy!”

  17. Carol Yntema
    November 2, 2014

    I finally got my hand on this amazing beautiful book . . .I was away for 2 weeks and had my mail delivery on hold, so I waited in anticipation for the mail to arrive and when it did I was blown away. What a gorgeous, inspiring book!!! The photographs jump of the page filling your head with beautiful bursts of colour and design. Kate and team, you did a fabulous job of capturing the essence and possibilities that can be achieved with tiny colourful tubes of glass. Your writing style and delivery of information is wonderful. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! it was well worth the wait.

  18. katemckinnon
    October 22, 2014

    From Hilde, in Belgium, a delightful review!

    Hello,
    I introduce myself, I’m Hilde. I live in Belgium. I like to make jewelry, especially peyote with delicas…, bracelets…… earrings……. beaded beads……It’s my hobby.

    I was so happy that one year ago I could order your first book! ( I saw in ‘Beadwork” magazine that I could order it on http://www.DiMarca-Online.com) , and this for Europe. I immediately order it.

    So one month later I had your first book!!!! I was so excited….I liked it on first sight. The colours, the prints, the photographs….everything.!!!!….. I always find it a challenge to make a piece.
    I showed the book to my friends and they liked it so much that they also want your books.

    Later on , I saw on facebook that we could order the second one, I could not wait to order!
    Since last week I have your second book. It’s Amazing, it’s VERY VERY BEAUTIFUL !!!!!!
    I like to look inside. It’s so MAGNIFICENT.!!!!!

    I love your books! Well done!!!!!

    Rainy, friendly, greetings from Belgium
    Hilde

  19. capitola bradshaw
    October 21, 2014

    Well! What a wonderful second volume…..so very inspiring! I have been making horned, winged, and zig-zag bracelets since the first book. What fun! I am amazed, however, at the vast number of people who have never seen this type of beadwork before. I go to all the local bead shows and even the vendors seem in awe. I am constantly recommending your books! ……and I tell them how easy it really is…….most don’t believe me! Also, they want to know how long it takes…..I just bead…. if it takes a long time what difference does that make…..quality over quantity…….I would be beading anyway. Looking forward to the Pattern Library. I believe that will encourage people to try these amazing, beautiful creations. Thankyou for your hard work …..without Vol.I I would not be so content and happy beading! KISS_KISS!

    • katemckinnon
      October 21, 2014

      Cappy! Thank you so much, what a wonderful review!

  20. Shirley Tyderkie
    October 21, 2014

    MY book has arrived, and it is fabulous. It was well worth the wait. I have always loved dimensional beadwork and this is the best. I am inspired. The photography is wonderful, and I love the format. That is the best spiral bound book I have ever owned. I cannot put this one away, and not only are the pictures great, but I have to read every word. Makes me wish every book was like this, you are so drawn in to it as you read. And all those wonderful talented beaders!!! Even non-beaders are intrigued. Thank you for such a wonderful work.

  21. Laura Squires
    October 3, 2014

    This book inspired me to make some beautiful pieces not to mention purchases of large quantities of delica beads. Thanks Kate for spearheading the great geometric bead project. Onward to vol 3?

    • katemckinnon
      October 3, 2014

      Ha! I’m sure Miyuki will appreciate it if they ever tumble to the fact that CGB has ramped up Delica sales dramatically. I took them a copy of the book in Tucson this year (they have a booth) and they held it like an object from outer space. I’m honestly not sure they grasped that the work was all done with Delicas and other cylinder beads. Funny!

  22. Nancy Haines
    October 3, 2014

    After months of anticipation I received my copy of CGB II and I am not disappointed in the least, it was well worth the waiting for. I love everything about this book. The spiral binding is a wonderful way to save your place. The quality of the paper is a delight to touch. The pictures are wonderful and I love the fact that you are told what beads are used in the illustrations. Most of all I am in awe of the work that some people do and the inspiration that it brings to me. Book I was amazing and so is book II. The fact that this is not a pattern book just pushes me to try my own design, something that I have never done before with beading, and I am loving it. Thanks to Kate and her crew.

  23. carol Berkman
    October 3, 2014

    Quite gorgeous and inspiring. Photography is totally amazing. Ideas abound. A must have.

  24. Barb
    October 3, 2014

    My head is swimming with ideas after two days of pouring over and over Volumn II. Don’t know how this all started but am so glad I discovered Contemporary Geometric Beadwork! Thanks to Kate for all of your hard work.

  25. Amy Bradley
    October 2, 2014

    Oh my gosh! My wonderful books full of visual treasures arrived today and I am delighted! I do have a small complaint, however. The tight shrinkwrapping combined with the spiral binding resulted in some bending of the corners of the covers, with some light creasing. The volume I also had some overall bending on the outer corners that you can see throughout the book. Nothing I can’t live with, but you might want to know about this.

    I am looking forward to spending hours enjoying these books and finally really sitting down and exploring with my beads!

    Oh, and I love the little hedgehog eraser I got!

  26. Janet Hendren
    October 2, 2014

    My book arrived today and it’s so BEAUTIFUL !!! love it !!!

  27. karenbrand
    October 2, 2014

    I’m beyond thrilled with this book and just can’t put it down. I can just tell it came from the heart of a beader… the photos are stunning, too! I have really quit buying beading books because I have so many and because some just feel flat to me… but I saw this one and knew it was special. Way to go!!

  28. Shirley Tyderkie
    October 2, 2014

    I i I will be glad to leave a comment when I receive the book. Still Waiting.

    • katemckinnon
      October 2, 2014

      Your book shipped on Monday, with 1000 others, a few days after they came in from the press, They all went Priority Mail, so it’s likely in your mailbox right now. : )

  29. Carol
    October 1, 2014

    So very excited to receive my books today! What a beautiful book! Unbelievable how amazing the pictures are!

  30. Cathi rosengren
    October 1, 2014

    OMG. It came today and it even smells delicious!!
    Cathi

  31. Dora Seimeni (Tzia Lola)
    September 3, 2014

    EXCITED…
    Every single page of these books is a box, which contains a little masterpiece. So I would modestly call the two volumes of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork, books of treasures!
    Small pieces of art, collected from all over the globe, introduce both readers and beaders to the highest classes of beading!
    The fascinating variety of beads and the exquisite geometric shapes composing those astonishing pieces, offer you, due to simple but explicated tips and patterns, the opportunity to create yours, even if you are an amateur!!
    Isn’t that just great?!
    This professional, accurate and genius work, makes this book an indispensable tool that turns beading into a great experience!
    I feel grateful and happy to have it! LOVE IT!

  32. Shirley Tyderkie
    August 29, 2014

    Just finished a first glance at the download of Vol 2. It is even more incredible than the Vol. 1, but you must have both always. I am astounded at the talented people and their projects. How inspiring. I can just taste it. Will this satisfy my love of shapes in beads? A good start for sure. Can’t wait to have the book in my hands. Too bad it won’t be here when I visit my daughter. She was most intrigued by Vol. 1, although she is not a beader. She will have to wait.

  33. Shobha Kunder
    July 21, 2014

    I bought the volume 1 in May. I am still looking at the designs and wondering if I can do any of them. I hope to start with the Helix Bangle soon.

    In the meanwhile I was trying to download the Volume 1 ebook and it says I need to have a password to download. I did not receive any password with my book. Can you give me a password to download the ebook?

    • katemckinnon
      July 21, 2014

      I would strongly encourage you to start with the Tri-Wing Ring, and work up to a Helix on an MRAW Band. The Tri-Wing will teach the MRAW Band. Also, check out our YouTube channel, TONS of video.
      I emailed you a password and the links.
      Best!
      Kate

      • Shobha Kunder
        July 21, 2014

        I will do as you say and start with the Tri-Wing RIng. It’s been a while since I was so excited about beading.

        Thank you for the email and your quick response.

        • katemckinnon
          July 21, 2014

          Wonderful! Don’t miss the videos, they will really help. There is a link in the upper right of this page as well (the black triangle).
          Have fun!
          Kate

  34. Carol Cady
    June 27, 2014

    Kate, how do I access the pattern library for Contempory Geometric Beadwork Vol II? I am having no luck.

    Carol

    • katemckinnon
      June 27, 2014

      Just click the Pattern Library link at the top of the page. ^ See it up there? In the black bar?
      You don’t need a password for anything except a download of the entire book.

  35. etscherba
    May 16, 2014

    Hi Kate

    I would like to thank you for your two books, although I have not bought the second one, yet, because I am very much busy at the moment with other stuff, so that I have no time for beading. (As we all know beading, above all geometric beading, is highly time consuming.)

    Nevertheless

    warm wishes from very grey and rainy Switzerland

    ElkeT

  36. lindaob725
    March 25, 2014

    Kate, I am one of Sharon Wagner’s “CGB Study Group.” I have been having so much fun learning these bead patterns with this gang of women. Sometimes just watching designs grow in our hands just takes my breath away! And I finally remembered to order book 2 and a calendar. Can’t wait! It doesn’t hurt to find a fellow trekkie (trekkor?) either, LOL! Hope I get to meet you in Milwaukee at B&B; I’m one of Sharon’s sidekicks for that, too.

  37. katemckinnon
    February 25, 2014

    A great review came in the mail, from Laurie Napa.
    An excerpt:

    “Since receiving the digital copy of Volume I, I have been a woman possessed – and obsessed!! …I’m a really hard time finding enough superlative adjectives to express my sheer delight and amazement…t is technically mesmerizing, visually delicious and your WORDS!! True poetry throughout. Within the first 12 hours I had my first tri-wing ring, and shortly thereafter created a couple of removable belly bands and embarked on the Tinyhorn Bangle. It is percolating right now –awaiting inspiration for more embellishment, while I work on a Zigwing Flower Bangle.

    Meanwhile, my two cats are getting only the very basic of maintenance care, my husband may never again get a home cooked dinner, and the dust, cat fur and nymo clippings are adorning my floors in a volume I’ve never seen before! I had a large collection of delicas “BCGB” (Before Contemporary Geometric Beadwork), but the folks at Fire Mountain Gems must be scratching their heads – their wonderful little boxes are arriving at my door at a with truly alarming regularity.

    …there may be a time somewhere in the future when I am not all consumed with Contemporary Geometric Beadwork, but I suspect it will be awhile….”

  38. Joanne B Thomas
    February 16, 2014

    What a fantastic book–the pictures and the commentary are fabulous. Can’t wait to play with all the ideas in it as I just received it–

  39. Lynne Summersbee
    February 4, 2014

    Oh my oh my! Just got my book from Amazon uk and what a book it is. This is definitely going to be my bedtime reading, daytime reading and traveling reading for the next few weeks/months. I will be taking this with me to my local beading group tomorrow to get them inspired to purchase it and to embark on a new journey. Thank you so much for this wonderful piece of work I can’t wait to get started. Lynne, oxford UK

  40. Julie Anstaett
    December 26, 2013

    I have Volume I and have pre-ordered Volume II…but what’s up with the password protection on Vol II pre orders? I don’t recall having to come up with a password…? I’d like to see what’s behind the green curtain…

    • katemckinnon
      December 26, 2013

      The Specials page contains sneak-peek patterns for pre-order customers, and new patterns will be added up until publication. If there weren’t a password on it, then it wouldn’t be very special, hmm?

      You received a PDF letter with your pre-order, containing a password, and I’ll email you another copy right now.
      Best!
      Kate

  41. Judy Drew
    December 23, 2013

    I just got my Mowgli kit. WOW! Gorgeous, and I can’t wait to start. Gotta finish the piece that I’m making for a friend, though.
    Kate, thank you so much for the cool Drew Estate Cigar box. It’s awesome!
    Judy Drew

  42. joan
    October 15, 2013

    I received your book and I thought it was just beautiful and the many pages of people’s work was breathtaking.

    I thought you did a wonderful job, and I especially love the ring binder as you can
    lay the book down and bead and not fight with the page. I just love the color of the pieces and
    the unusual designs. I was so happy to find Jean Power, who led me to your designs.

    • katemckinnon
      October 15, 2013

      Thank you so much, Joan! Jean Power was my first introduction to geometric beadwork as well, and I’ve greatly enjoyed adding to the treasure trove of architectural beaded forms on Planet Earth.

  43. Erika Towle
    September 29, 2013

    I received Vol 1 this summer and have been drooling ever since. I have drifted away from beading the past 1-2 years or so, uninspired, bored, I could not even finish my projects. If I got stuck that was it in the “work in progress” bin it went. No creative juices here at all. CGB is helping me get over my funk,and I find myself eager to start a piece -but which one?! The pages are full of such unique, exquisite work & the colors are to die for. I just ordered Vol 2 and can’t wait for it!
    The layout of the book is handy and easy to follow and I love the spiral binding. A book to be used & treasured (and hoarded ) for many years to come.

    Thank you for this book and for helping my creativity & ideas finally make a comeback!
    ~Erika T NH

    • katemckinnon
      September 30, 2013

      Erika, that is one thing we have heard a lot about CGB- people who had become bored with their beads, and who were re-energized creatively by the architecture, and the sensible MRAW foundation band. I’m so happy to hear you feel the same! Thank you for your review.
      Kate

  44. Nancy Jenner
    September 29, 2013

    This book is intoxicating! The first time I opened it I felt excitement at the beautiful beadwork and design concepts contained within its pages. It’s a visual feast! I have to admit that because the book is set up in an unconventional manner, I was a tad bit intimidated at first. But, I was soon put at ease by Kate’s friendly writing style, humor, and easy to follow diagrams. Beginner beaders need not be fearful because Kate reassuringly walks you through the steps. What I love most about Contemporary Geometric Beadwork is the creativity it inspires. This is truly an outstanding book. Oh, and it’s so much fun to see beadwork inspired by the book (and to be included in Volume II) on the Facebook page!

    For those who are hesitant to purchase it because of its price tag, fear not; it’s worth every penny and then some. As a beader I can take classes through my beading guild or local bead store and spend this much money (or more) on the registration fee, going home with one project. With this book there are endless possibilities for beadwork, which makes it a bargain.

    I’m also pleased that it’s printed in the US. 🙂

    • katemckinnon
      September 30, 2013

      What a wonderful review, Nancy, thank you!
      Kate

  45. Cécilia
    September 26, 2013

    Ce livre est très inspirant, je l’adore c’est pourquoi on n’a pas envie de s’arrêter là j’ai pré commander le second qui je ne doute pas doit être magnifique, et très explicite comme le premier. J’aime son format facile à prendre à retrourner. Les modèles sont sensationnelles. Bref il devient mon livre adoré et fétiche, je ne le quitte plus, J’aime j’aime. Cécilia. Oh oui si petites perles quand je ‘ai dans la peau…
    Cécilia Evrard.
    J’ai hâte de recevoir le second livre. Merci à toi kate Mckinnon de nous faire partager tes créations.

  46. Deb Bednarek
    July 11, 2013

    This book has revolutionized my thinking of beadwork. I am a long time beader and grew tired of the cookie cutter approach too many books take. Contemporary Geometric Beadwork’s approach of presenting techniques and concepts is both comprehensive and inspirational, to say the least! I feel any level of beader can easily grasp these ideas from the detailed diagrams to the wonderfully written text. And the photographs; wow! The creative variety of the beadwork shown keeps me up at night and makes me go back to this book time and again. On a practical level, the combination of format, book size and the terrific spiral binding makes this book so easy to use and take anywhere you go! Creativity just explodes from this book and it’s due to Kate’s thoughtful way of gathering talents and sharing them with us all. Thank you!

    • katemckinnon
      September 26, 2013

      Thank you, Deb! Honestly, I expected to get a lot of complaints about the format of the book- people are so used to, as you say, cookie-cutter pattern books. And then everyone who buys the book makes the same 25 things, and people look, and say, “Oh, you made the xx from book xx!”

      I find that very limiting… and what a WORLD opened up when everyone was encouraged to make their own variations. I could never have imagined how much original work would spring from CGB. It’s a joy, every day, to see the pieces and photos stream in.

  47. Jeannette Cook
    July 11, 2013

    Unique, inspiring, beautifully written, wonderful photography. Clear, easy to follow instructions and the spiral binding allows you to open the book flat! That is so important when using a book to learn technique. Best of all the projects are amazing. Not to mention this book is written and produced right here in the U.S. on crisp, white, good quality paper. You will be so happy you supported the arts and have this treasure in your library.

    Jeannette

  48. parkwaysmom
    July 6, 2013

    Love Love Love this book. I spent a weekend beading with Kate in California and when I got this book I immediately returned back to her wonderful personality, and inspiring mind. Thank you….if I can ever quit looking at it I will bead!!

    Can hardly wait for volume 2!!

    Keep ’em coming Kate!
    Cathi

  49. Janet Bayus
    June 26, 2013

    Downloaded the ebook last week and was totally overwhelmed looking at all the work! Talk about sensory overload! Book was delivered Monday, can’t put it down. I’ve done quite a bit of geometric beading before, patterns by Judy Walker, Diane Fitzgerald & Jean Power, so I figured this stuff would be relatively easy. Maybe it’s just because I have craft-ADHD, but I’ve started three different things and just keep flipping thru the pages and keep finding projects I NEED to make. I know I need to take a deep breath, just finish what I have already started before I move on, but they are all so fabulous! So looking forward to Vol II and III and many more. The videos are fantastic too!
    My attention had wandered away from beading for a while towards knitting. After seeing this book, I’m packing up my yarn and pulling out all my beads again!

    • katemckinnon
      June 26, 2013

      As you might imagine, Janet, I feel exactly the same way about CGB. It’s like it’s a new drug on centers of our beading brains that had apparently gone a bit to sleep. That’s how it felt to me. Neurons started firing in all areas of my life, and I even started thinking differently; flowering ideas looked to me (if one could freeze them briefly) like Horned bangles, expanding exponentially.

      Thank you for writing in; you soar my heart. Of course you know I want to see what you make- I’ll be shooting work all summer, here in Tucson. Send me a box, when you finish a few.

  50. Amy B
    May 11, 2013

    Got my book today: WOW! Like receiving a wonderful jeweled gift. Beautifully photographed, great diagrams, and such wonderful writing! This is so much more than a project book, it is a book of thoughts and inspiration. Thank you, Kate, and all the other beaders who helped create such a unique, delightful book.
    And I like Julia’s comment above “…take you into a parallel beady universe!”

  51. Julia Hecht
    May 3, 2013

    The book is the work of a number of bead artists who put their heads and hearts together. Some names you will recognize, like Dustin Wedekind and Jean Power, and others you might not. But from now on you will. This a book to make you think about beading. It is alluring and persuasive. So much so, that I am even using Nymo again (and enjoying it). Get this book and let it take you into a parallel beady universe! Excerpted from “Beadfingers – Beads and Beyond” at http://www.poppybeads.com.
    Julia Hecht, Owner and Designer at Poppyfield Bead Company, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

    • katemckinnon
      May 3, 2013

      Julia, thank you so much! I somehow missed your review when you wrote it, much appreciated. Kate

  52. Ronel Durandt
    May 3, 2013

    Dear CGB Team,
    Finally I can also say : ‘I got my book today!!’ I have stopped spending money on beading books simply because I like to bead ‘out of the box’…..Well this book is in a completely new zone!
    Paging through it is like having several ‘wow-moments per second.’
    Like Margaret Atwood said in her foreword to The Gift (Lewis Hyde) :
    ‘gifts transform the soul in ways that simple commodities cannot.’
    This book is such a gift.

  53. katemckinnon
    May 2, 2013

    Vicky writes,

    First of all THANK YOU for such an amazing book! I can’t seem to put it down! I have always considered myself to be a pattern following beader, but I think you book has inspired me to approach beadwork from a different angle- I think it is the “just try it attitude” that comes from every page….(s…thank you again for all your hard work, I hope you feel it was worth it, because I think you have produced the most inspiring book I own (and I own around 150!)

  54. katemckinnon
    April 30, 2013

    It’s always exciting when we hear from fellow professional beaders; Marcia DeCoster sat down with Contemporary Geometric Beadwork, and gave it a good read and a great review. She loved the things about it that we love too, like the beautiful photographs, the silly bits, the amazing work from beaders who joined us during the production process.

    An excerpt:
    …the photography is stunning, a combination of Kyle Cassidy and Kate McKinnon. How could it not be with the care and attention to detail. The desert shots of Gabriella in the red ball gown wearing the incredible jewelry that has come from the geometrics are incredibly beautiful. The work itself, from all corners of the globe is fresh, innovative, colorful and inspiring. …What else? The words…..the words are really good. Beyond the names which invoke the fancifulness of the pieces, Horned Wings, Zigged Parrot Tulips, Fortune Teller Bangles, there are the descriptions ‘The turquoise tips on each Horn slay us with their beady perfection’.

    Then there is the humor. Each time you read a chapter you find some hidden gems ‘If we tell you to “Needle Up”, then we are probably inviting you to either a bead party or to go to acupuncture with. Either way, say yes!’

    Descriptions in the Tips & Terminology chapter are not only descriptive, but visually descriptive as in Toothrow, ‘any row or round of beadwork that presents in little teeth, waiting to hook on to some thing.’

    Beaders have clearly been inspired by the concepts in this book as evidenced by the body of work that is presented here. Also obvious is they’ve been given the techniques in a way that is easy to grasp, and in a way that fosters one’s own creativity.

    Read the whole review here:
    http://www.maddesignsbeads.blogspot.com/2013/04/contemporary-geometric-beadwork.html

  55. katemckinnon
    April 30, 2013

    And Diane said…
    …you have truly produced an amazing work of art that surpasses all of your previous publications. I have inhaled it, re-read it, finger traced each photo in it – and fallen in love with beading all over again.

    The descriptions, suggestions and photographs are so well done that they kept drawing me further and further into the book. I marveled at how beautifully your methods conveyed how to use simple forms to build complex objects…I am looking forward to Volume II and sending my pre-order in today.

  56. katemckinnon
    April 30, 2013

    an excerpt from a note from Lidia:

    …what I really want to thank you for is the book itself and your refreshing point of view. I didn’t order it sooner because I swore to myself that I would not buy another beading book unless I had looked at it personally…it seems that the trend in beading books is for collections of project tutorials with the editors removing all traces of the author’s personality and passion. Not so with your book and your approach to presenting concepts. You certainly have managed to create the perfect balance of concepts, instruction, inspiration and eye candy.

    I can’t remember the last time a new book has made me so happy. Just so you know, what made me break the solemn oath to myself were the excellent videos you posted on Face Book/You Tube and your saying “Thread paths belong to the People”….

    PS – Printed and Bound in the USA!! Really makes this extra wonderful! That too is very much appreciated.

  57. katemckinnon
    April 30, 2013

    An excerpt from Rose Rushbrooke’s review, which can be found on her blog, here:
    http://www.roserushbrooke.com/blog/contemporary-geometric-beadwork-by-kate-mckinnan/

    …When you open the book up you can feel the intensity of the design work and all the hours of creativity which went into the pages. Just chocker-block full of pictures, tips, ideas, variations. Yowzers. It takes a while to absorb all the information so you need to turn the pages slowly.

    Before you even reach the Table of Contents you know the writer is talking to you. Little comments such as …beads, how we love them … give a clue to the relaxed and humourous subtext. Short quotes throughout are little nuggets of thoughfulness. Do read everything – you cannot miss a smidgensworth….

Please feel free to comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: