CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK

an open source architectural beadwork project from Kate McKinnon and a worldwide team of innovators

Springtime

Here in Savannah everything is blooming, birds are nesting, and it’s just gorgeous. I have a stunning clematis vine in bloom and I am in love. Each flower is almost as big as my head.

I wish I could be outside to enjoy it, but literal rivers of yellow pollen are flowing down from the trees and now all of a sudden my sole goal is continuing to breathe through the night. Hopefully soon it will all settle down and maybe I can get out there again.

I’ve been working as much as I can (my stability kind of comes and goes) and this week I’m back in the Introduction section of the massive Pattern Book, starting to put in the page number references, etc. to connect it all to the charts, patterns and the Technical Manual. It’s satisfying to see this final section coming together.

(Click any of the photos to open a new window to see the spreads better.)

Did you get to see the eclipse yesterday? We had about 70% coverage here but stupidly I fell asleep in the afternoon and missed the whole thing! I hope you did better.

I’ve really enjoyed hearing from you all over the past months, and one of the cherished friends I’ve made through the project is Jobi Cates. She came to CGB fairly recently through an experience somewhat like mine; becoming suddenly and dramatically disabled with post-viral complications from COVID. She did an astonishing thing, which was to put her mind back in order by going through our catalog of discoveries via my YouTube videos and beading almost much every form we have done. This week I took some photographs of her latest work- this is one of the spreads in progress (I’m still working on the text). The beadwork is brilliant, and beautifully done, and each stitch represents her progress back to health as well as the growth of the pieces.

I asked Jobi if I could talk about her experience and she said, Yes, definitely- I think it gives it all more meaning… I can’t look at anything I’ve made since I got sick without seeing how different my mind is. And this type of beadwork is the first tangible positive manifestation of this different mind… everything else feels like loss or damage. If I can build from that positive spot I stand a chance of living my life fully regardless of whether I ever “get back”.

I hear that. Beadwork has saved so many of us in so many different ways. I don’t know if I ever showed you all the spread in the Pattern Book for Karen Lautenschlager’s Kaleidocycle, which she designed to incorporate graphic themes from paintings done by her son Mike, who had recently passed away. By doing the work of studying and dissecting the thematic elements from his paintings, she was able to understand more about him as a person. Karen brought Mike’s paintings and her cycle to one of our team meetings in Boston (back in 2017) and all of our hearts shattered and came together again as she showed us his work and talked about her journey through this beaded piece.

I think anyone who has followed our project (or who knows me) knows how important this all has been to me, and to so many others, and I am moved every time I hear from someone like Karen or Jobi, and find out that unbeknownst to me, the work has gone out ahead, on its own steam, and brought peace, progress, hope or closure to others. My hope is that the books will do the same and that they will carry that light forward after we have all hung up our bead trays.

With love,
Kate

About katemckinnon

Kate McKinnon has devoted herself to the study of how things are done, and how they could be done better.

12 comments on “Springtime

  1. Kasey
    April 22, 2024

    Charleston here. Same rivers of pollen. Finally letting up around here.

  2. whitehousehandicrafts@bentonrea.com
    April 17, 2024

    Kate, I was unaware of your situation, so I appreciate your sharing your story and that of Jobi. One hears so much about artists who have lost their creativity for one reason or another and cannot seem to find their way back. But your story, and the story of Karen Lautenschlager, illustrate just how healing art can be if one is able to persevere. I know in my experience, though not as devastating as others’, beading or other crafting can make me feel better, even if only in a small way.

    Eileen White

  3. Diana Bendall
    April 13, 2024

    Kate it is so good to hear from you. Thank you for all the inspiration that you send our way. it always brightens up the day to see your and others work. So many of us are finding life a little, or a lot difficult at this moment and sharing beauty is so inspiring

    Thanks to you and all

    Diana

  4. rivergirl1
    April 10, 2024

    These are the most incredible stories and I’m so grateful to hear them because you shared them. It seems we all have stories that brought us to beading and to put ourselves, our creativity, into making and crafting. So thank you o all those contributing to and learning from CGB.

  5. Debra
    April 10, 2024

    The bead works by Jodi and Karen are heartwarming. Knowing that others use bead work to grow and understand means so much to me. I discovered that bead work is like therapy. I have bipolar disorder and other co-morbids. Beading helps me escape if even for a short time – except when I am deeply depressed. I am in awe and anticipation of these fabulous books. You have put so much love and work into creating them. Thank you Kate.

    • katemckinnon
      April 10, 2024

      So lovely as always to see you, Deb. I agree, beading is such a special kind of therapy, the rhythm, like a heartbeat, of each space in the timeline receiving its gift of a bead, so much like the intervals of life. But beads don’t hurt the way life can. I cherish the pieces of yours that are in the books. Love, Kate

      • msdkatz
        April 10, 2024

        Thank you dear Kate
        Sending Love and {{{HuGGGsss}}}

  6. Kim Heinlein
    April 10, 2024

    These examples are brilliant. I can’t wait for the Pattern Book to arrive!

    Kim

    • katemckinnon
      April 10, 2024

      Kim, how nice to hear from you! The books are gorgeous and I am so happy to be able to be back at work on them.

  7. Brenda Stone
    April 10, 2024

    Thank you for sharing. You are a never ending source of inspirati

  8. Tammy Alderman
    April 9, 2024

    Hi Kate

    What are we learning through our trials?

    Peace 💝

    Thank you for being you and your passion!

    I would love to bead your clematis flower 🙂

    With much love & prayers,

    Tammy

    • katemckinnon
      April 9, 2024

      I would love to see you bead my clematis flower! I wish I could give you one in person!

Please feel free to comment!

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2024 by .

Navigation

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow CONTEMPORARY GEOMETRIC BEADWORK on WordPress.com